Select Page

NEWS & NOTES

RSD13: Rivers of Conversations

by | May 2024 | RSD13, RSD13 for contributors, SDA blog

The Oslo School of Architecture and Design is hosting Relating Systems Thinking and Design 13 in October 2024. The group will post updates here as plans progress.

RSD13 invites you to consider systemic design’s emerging features in the context of knowledge perspectives, praxeologies, and lived experience. The rivers of conversations metaphor harkens us to the tributaries of the thirteen RSD hubs in 2023, connects the ecotones of previous symposia, and the interdisciplinary functions of systemic design as bridges that connect meanings and mental models.

RSD13 begins with an online programme of author talks, presentations, workshops, and discussions. The online sessions are followed by a three-day in-person symposium with speakers from the systemic design network and two days at a forest retreat with an open space agenda.

DATES
OCT 12–19: RSD13-ONLINE
OCT 19–21: RSD13-OSLO-MET in-person workshops
OCT 22–24: RSD13-OSLO
OCT 23: RSD13-VIPPA hosted by HALOGEN
OCT 25 & 26: RSD13-NORDMARKA-FOREST

dates | theme | focus areas

The intent-to-submit period closed on March 15, 2024, for all tracks except maps and exhibits. Submissions for maps and exhibits are welcome up to August 31, 2024. Questions? Drop a line in the chat or email cheryl@systemic-design.org

Final submissions are due on
April 30

Open call for Reviewers
April 1–30

Feedback to authors
June 30

RSD13-ONLINE
sessions OCTOBER 16–18

RSD13-OSLO & Nordmarka Forest October 22–26

Main theme: Rivers of conversations

Metaphors: river, conversations, dialogues, debate, flows, streams, meanders, delta, backwater, bridges, step stones

Focus of conversations: Relating systems thinking and design to catalyse and enrich conversations about the sub-themes below. Systemic design conversations on any other issues are also welcome and encouraged.

The Conversations

 

Methodologies and practice

  • Systemic design theories and praxeology
  • Transformative implementations—past, present and future
  • Advanced tools and AI in systemic design
  • Demonstrations and cases
  • Bridging across silos, knowledge domains and disciplinary boundaries
  • Embodiment, enaction and emotional engagement
  • Narratives, storytelling, myths and rituals
  • Visual conversation, gigamaps, synthesis maps, visual communication, jumping conversations

Democracy, power dynamics, and equity

  • Policy, governance and public trust
  • Fellowships of disagreement and depolarisation
  • Handling conflicts (negative/constructive) and bridging tensions
  • Civic society and social infrastructure
  • Power dynamics and empowerment
  • Representation, inclusion and diversity

Sustainability, society, and organisations

  • Policy and regulations (e.g. EU act and taxonomy)
  • Large-scale business and organisational transformations
  • Circular economy, service and value exchange
  • Constructed environments, objects and material systems
  • Exnovation and termination
  • Natural resources, biodiversity, deep ecology and regeneration
  • Consumption, sharing and recycling
  • Systemic design within a polycrisis world

Well-being, healthcare, safety, and resilience

  • Health, care and well-being
  • Prevention and proactivity
  • Preparedness, contingency, and defence capacity
  • Societal, organisational, and emotional resilience

RSD13 Organisers

RSD13 Chair

Birger Sevaldson Birger.Sevaldson@aho.no

Co-Chairs

Jonathan Romm Jonathan.Romm@aho.no

Andreas Wettre Andreas.Wettre@aho.no

RSD Managing Editor

Cheryl May cheryl@systemic-design.org

Academic Committee

Tore Gulden tgulden@oslomet.no

Svein Gunnar Kjøde sveingkj@uio.no

Jonathan Romm jonathan.romm@aho.no

Birger Sevaldson birger.sevaldson@aho.no

Frederick Steier fsteier@gmail.com

Mieke van der Bijl-Brouwer M.vanderBijl-Brouwer@tudelft.nl

Josina Vink Josina.Vink@aho.no

Andreas Wettre andreas.wettre@aho.no

Scientific Advisor

Peter Jones pjones@ocadu.ca

RSD13-ONLINE

Palak Dudani  palak.dudani@gmail.com

Adrian Paulsen adrian.paulsen@halogen.no

Ayşe Kaplan Sarısaltık aysekapl@oslomet.no

Birger Sevaldson birger.sevaldson@aho.no

RSD13-OSLO

Lene Aareskjold lene.aareskjold@aho.no

Jonathan Romm jonathan.romm@aho.no

Aleksandra Maria Stasiak alsta4176@oslomet.no

Andreas Wettre andreas.wettre@aho.no

Martina Wolna martina.wolna@aho.no

RSD13 PRACTICE DAY

Susanne Ringdal susanne.ringdal@halogen.no

Jonathan Romm jonathan.romm@aho.no

RSD13-NORDMARKA FOREST

Angel Lamar Oliveras angel.lamar@designit.com

Jonathan Romm jonathan.romm@aho.no

Marie van den Bergh jmarie.van-den-bergh@frog.no

AHO logo
Systemic Design Association

Visual Inspiration

Image by Daniel E Coe

The inspiration chosen for RSD13 images is a visual interpretation derived from a high-resolution stereo digital elevation model of the Lena River delta by Daniel Coe, whose cartographic interests include geologic and geomorphic processes, natural hazards, biogeography, and lidar-based landform visualisation. The entire collection of geographic visualisation by Daniel Coe is on Flicker.

RSD13 image by Daniel Coe  | CC BY-NC-ND 2.0 DEED Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 2.0 Generic
Detail view of the Lena River delta, LiDAR-based landform visualization

RSD13 Consultation

Share your experience and offer your thoughts on programming. Please take a few minutes to participate in the consultation.

RSD13 TIMELINE

Final submissions are due on
April 30

Open call for Reviewers
April 1–30

Feedback to authors
June 30

RSD13-ONLINE
sessions OCTOBER 16–18

RSD13-OSLO & Nordmarka Forest October 22–26

Lidar-derived image of the Danube River and floodplain near Tulln, Austria. Daniel Coe. CC BY-NC-ND 2.0 DEED