Proceedings of Relating Systems Thinking and Design (RSD10) 2021 Symposium

RSD10 – Playing with Tensions: Embracing new complexity, collaboration and contexts in systemic design

Editors: Dr JC Diehl and Dr Nynke Tromp, and Dr Mieke van der Bijl-Brouwer

Complex systems do not lend themselves for simplification. Systemic designers have no choice but to embrace complexity, and in doing so, embrace opposing concepts and the resulting paradoxes. It is at the interplay of these ideas that they find the most fruitful regions of exploration. The main conference theme explored design and systems thinking practices as mediators to deal fruitfully with tensions. Our human tendency is to relieve the tensions, and in design, to resolve the so-called “pain points.” But tensions reveal paradoxes, the sites of connection, breaks in scale, the emergence of complexity. Can we embrace the tension and paradoxes as valuable social feedback in our path to just and sustainable futures?

The RSD10 symposium was held at the faculty of Industrial Design Engineering, Delft University of Technology, November 2-6, 2021. After a successful (yet unforeseen) online version of the RSD 9 symposium, RSD10 was designed as a hybrid conference.

RSD10 Symposium Proceedings

RSD10 proceedings are listed in the following order: introduction, keynote speakers, workshops, interactives, papers, systems maps.


Delft, The Netherlands | November 2-6, 2021

The proceedings are published and available online as open access documents.

RSD10 online proceedings published by the Systemic Design Association
ISSN 2371-8404

Citation (APA)

Author. (2021). Article title. Proceedings of Relating Systems Thinking and Design 2021 Symposium.

Playing with Tensions published by TU Delft
ISBN/EAN: 978-94-6366-507-0

Citation (APA)

Author. (2021). Article title. In J.C. Diehl, Nynke Tromp & Mieke van der Bijl-Brouwer (Ed.) Playing with Tensions: Proceedings of Relating Systems Thinking and Design (RSD10) Symposium. Delft, The Netherlands, November 2-6, 2021. TU Delft.

TU Delft logo

Scientific Committee

Silvia Barbero

Mieke van der Bijl-Brouwer

Jan Carel Diehl

Peter Jones

Nynke Tromp

Posted Jan-2022